I Used To

I am not a teenager.
You will find me in the good ranks of neither adults, nor the elderly.
I am what one might refer to as – the ‘young adult’.

I used to burst crackers when I was young. I still do.
I used to splash coloured water on my friends and family. I still do.
I used to litter roads with wrappers of sticky candies. I still do not do that now.
I used to loathe studying environmental science, calling it preachy. I still do not do that now.
I used to exploit my privileges by turning on the air-conditioner every time a drop of sweat formed a jewel on my brows. I still do not do that now.
I used to brush it off lightly when the tap in the kitchen leaked, calling it insignificant. I still do not do that now.
I used to be in denial about the importance of not only my immediate, but also my extended, surroundings. I still do not know better now.
I used to be instructed by my elders to be more cautious, if not caring. I still do not know how.

And while I sit here at my study, and write about all the things I used to do, I will still not learn to care enough in order to construct a better tomorrow.

I might just plant a sapling to right my wrongs. But I will not water it daily;  that was someone I used to be.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. sreemanjaree says:

    ________________________________

    1. ankitagupta says:

      Haha I’m not sure what to make of your comment. I hope my writing hasn’t been a poor read.

  2. sreemanjaree says:

    EH. I don’t know how that happened.

Leave a Reply

